How my Fiverr gig turned into a full-time career with one client

Tomi Dean Lynch
2 min readApr 26, 2023

Last March I wrote an article about getting paid to write custom erotica on Fiverr. What I didn't know then was that my little side income generator was going to open the door to a ghostwriting gig for a single client that’s been going strong for the last seven months with no signs of slowing down.

When I started my Fiverr account, I aimed to write two or three stories per month and use that money to market my books. It didn't take long to reach that goal. I had already committed to leaving my traditional job career in 2023 to write full-time, so I saved up a solid nest egg for a backup plan and paid off all of my debts.

Then something changed. In October of 2022, I received a large order on Fiverr. It was a 25k story request with very detailed instructions. I knew it was a ghostwriting gig but I have no issue with my customers using my stories commercially. I completed the job and within 24 hours the customer ordered a second story of the same length.

Upon completion of the second story, the customer reached out to me via email and asked if we could move our relationship off of Fiverr and work together one on one. She stated that by doing so we could avoid the fees charged by Fiverr but warned that she would be expecting me to devote a lot of time to her projects. I agreed and have…

--

--

Tomi Dean Lynch

Writer of Romance/Erotica, Extreme coffee drinker, transplanted Jersey girl, adopted mother of parrots.